Atyrau, February 22 07:29
Day clear+3, evening: -3
Official exchange rates: $ 375.95  € 425.80  P 5.74

Treaty on Armenia's accession to Eurasian Economic Union ratified by State Duma

December 10 2014, 15:45

Russian lawmakers voted unanimously. The lower house of Russia's parliament (the State Duma) has ratified the treaty on Armenia's joining the Eurasian Economic Union.

Armenia will become a member of the union after all the ratification procedures in member countries (Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan) are completed, but no earlier than January 1, 2015, itar-tass reports.

“Armenia has shown the maximum will to go the Eurasian way of development. It is a historic decision for the formation of the EEU,” the head of the Russian Duma committee for CIS affairs, Leonid Slutsky, told TASS earlier Wednesday.

The heads of Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Armenia signed the agreement on the EEU in October this year. Armenia in September 2013 declared plans to join the Customs Union and participate in the EEU formation.

The Eurasian Economic Union is being formed as an interstate Eurasian integration organization based on the Customs Union, which is open for other states to join.

Нашли ошибку? Выделите её мышью и нажмите Ctrl + Enter.

1164 viewsMain page Поделиться:

Подпишитесь и узнавайте о новостях первыми

Main page